Lactose intolerance or a milk allergy can prompt the use of milk substitutes; they are also consumed by vegans. Some milk substitutes may be considered healthier than milk as they are either lower in or free from cholesterol and/or saturated fats.
Rice milk a healthy alternative or option to dairy for anyone looking to reduce their intake of cholesterol.
Typically, commercially available milk substitutes are lacking in vitamins or dietary minerals present in milk (such as Vitamin B12 or calcium), and are typically fortified.
The two most common categories of milk substitutes are grain milk and plant milk. The most common grain milk is rice milk, while the most common plant milk is soy milk. Other examples include coconut milk, almond milk, and peanut milk.
“Horchata” is an old-world rice milk beverage that was at one time enjoyed by the Aztecs when the Spanish brought rice to the New World in the 17th century.
Today, this “agua fresca” is served throughout Mexico as well as in many authentic Mexican restaurants in the United States. Horchata is a cool and soothing enhancement to spicy food. Though horchata was once typically homemade, it is now available in both ready-to-drink (shelf-stable or refrigerated) and powdered form in many grocery stores.
This version of risotto boasts a refreshing lemon tang complemented with seasonal spring and summer ingredients. Short grain brown rice gives this dish a slightly chewy texture and nuttier flavour than traditional risotto — a happy delight for tastebuds. Leftovers make for an appetizing lunch. Continue Reading
With the subtle sweetness of coconut and traditional Asian ingredients and flavours, this mouthwatering spring-inspired meal will delight parents and kids alike. Served with coconut brown rice, it’s a simple and healthy weeknight meal. Continue Reading
This hearty salad is ideal for a crowd and makes great leftovers. The black and brown rice add a source of fibre to every serving and the recipe can be slightly modified to be gluten-free. Simply, check brand of feta, and wine vinegar can be replaced with any gluten-free vinegar. Continue Reading