Lactose intolerance or a milk allergy can prompt the use of milk substitutes; they are also consumed by vegans. Some milk substitutes may be considered healthier than milk as they are either lower in or free from cholesterol and/or saturated fats.
Rice milk is a healthy alternative or option to dairy for anyone looking to reduce their intake of cholesterol.
Many commercially available milk substitutes are lacking in vitamins or dietary minerals present in milk (such as Vitamin B12 or calcium), and are fortified.
The two most common categories of milk substitutes are grain milk and plant milk. The most common grain milk is rice milk, while the most common plant milk is soy milk. Other examples include coconut milk, almond milk, and peanut milk.
'Horchata' is an old-world rice milk beverage that was at one time enjoyed by the Aztecs when the Spanish brought rice to the New World in the 17th century.
Today, this 'agua fresca' is served throughout Mexico as well as in many authentic Mexican restaurants in the United States. Horchata is a cool and soothing enhancement to spicy food. Though horchata was once typically homemade, it is now available in both ready-to-drink (shelf-stable or refrigerated) and powdered form in many grocery stores.
Photo of Horchata Beverage
Link to Horchata Recipe
Link To 2C 'Other Rice Products'
Link To: 2d 'Recipes - Misc']
The Korean Rice Bowl is sure to dominate kitchen tables across the country. This dinner for four only costs $13 to make and family members will welcome the Asian-inspired flavours and change from the everyday casserole. Prepare pork and cabbage up to a day in advance and use leftover U.S. rice to cut back on prep time for a fast weeknight meal. Continue Reading
A quick fix for lunch or dinner, this twist on a traditional Greek salad is a meal in itself. For quick preparation, dice vegetables and combine with rice mixture. Continue Reading
This hearty salad is ideal for a crowd and makes great leftovers. The black and brown rice add a source of fibre to every serving and the recipe can be slightly modified to be gluten-free. Simply, check brand of feta, and wine vinegar can be replaced with any gluten-free vinegar. Continue Reading