Gluten is the generic name for certain types of sticky storage proteins contained in the common cereal grains wheat, barley, rye, and their derivatives.
Rice and its derivatives do not contain gluten. However, should your rice be milled in a facility that also mills wheat products, cross-contamination could occur.
These products of ours are guaranteed to be gluten free:
A gluten-free diet is required for those suffering from of Celiac Disease (CD), Dermatitis Herpetiformis (DH) and recommended for those with wheat allergies, and/or those who are sensitive to the gliadin protein in gluten. This diet is completely free of ingredients derived from grains and cereals containing gluten: wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, and rye, as well as the inclusion of gluten as a food additive in the form of a flavouring, stabilizing or thickening agent.
CD is a lifelong genetic disorder that can affect both children and adults. When people with CD consume foods containing gluten, it creates an immune-mediated toxic reaction that causes damage to the small intestine. This does not allow food to be properly absorbed. Even small amounts of gluten in foods can affect those with CD and cause health problems. Damage can occur to the small bowel even when there are no symptoms present. Celiac Disease has no cure, but avoiding the consumption of gluten can resolve its symptoms, mitigate and possibly reverse damage, and reduce associated health risks.
Not all adverse reactions are due to Celiac Disease. The gluten-sensitive designation may not be appropriate in all cases, as wheat allergies are often directed toward albumins or globulins of wheat, or the person may have a sensitivity to proteins commonly found with wheat products (e.g. fungal amylase or bread-yeast mannins).
Lactose intolerance, food sensitivities, or allergies to soy, corn, other foods, or even the stomach flu, are common causes of symptoms similar to CD.
Consult your physician or dietician for more information regarding CD, wheat allergies, and gluten sensitivity.
When wheat and wheat flours are not used in baking recipes the final product tends to be coarser and denser.
Suggestions for Rice Flour:
Substitutions with Rice Flour:
Substitute rice flour for wheat flour in recipes: 7/8 cup brown or white rice flour (1 cup minus 2 Tbsp.) = 1 cup wheat flour.
In this side dish, brown rice gets help from a supporting cast of crunchy pine nuts, high fibre apricots and savoury feta. This accompaniment also scores major points for presentation with the rice served from the heart of an artichoke. Continue Reading
Do you love sushi? We are lucky to have a plethora of excellent sushi restaurants to choose from. But have you ever thought about making your own? What might seem intimidating is actually not that difficult, and you’ll probably find it to be a lot of fun. The key is to make sure beforehand that you have the necessary equipment and ingredients. <p> Sushi can be enjoyed in many different ways. Sushi prepared as rice rolls wrapped in nori (a thin slice of dried seaweed) is called Maki sushi. Some kinds of Maki sushi are Futo Maki (“fat rolls”, usually with vegetable and egg centres), Tekka Maki (with raw salmon or tuna centres), and Kappa Maki (made with vegetable centres, e.g. cucumber sticks). <p> Sushi that is a fish slice on a palm full of rice is known as Nigiri Sushi. If the raw fish is served alone, it is called Sashimi.</p> <p> Today we’ll be making a style of Maki Sushi.</p> Continue Reading